Never ASSUME. You make an ASS out of U and ME.

Jón Gunnar commented:

I see that you are not dead, still whining and complaining. No, we don't know each other.

And yes, I have also heard all your arguments before by people that used to hang around the Kárahnjúkar Dam all summer long and "protest" (to be read drink beer and have sex with strangers in tents) and hang around at Sirkus Pub and play chess when they were in town and curse Davíđ Oddson like the plague.  I hate to break it to you but your blog entry about this interview is not inventing the wheel all over again, it has been heard before and it still sounds as pointless as you claim the interview with Davíđ was.  My bet is though that around 70% of the nations population was watching and listening to what he was saying and to see the dramatic change in peoples commennts on news of the interview in Davíđ's favour is quite refreshing and hopefully a sign that the brainwashing of the Baugur Group with all it's media companies could be washing off.
Hopefully you will take a bath too.

Wow, I didn't realize the protesters in Kárahnjúkar were pro-industry, pro-whaling people who could make such good arguments. I never could understand being a tree hugger in a country with no trees.  Drinking beer and having sex with strangers in tents? Are you not referring to Verslunamannahelgi?  I can't see how you can read into my article that i think Daviđ is the plague.  I have given very good, objective reasons as to why he should not be the head of the central bank. The main reasons have mostly to do with what he did AFTER the bank collapse. Here they are once again: 

1. He is a politician.  I have already explained why having a politician as the head of a central bank is a bad idea.  If you read the technical suggestions from the IMF you would see that almost all countries have a  specific ban on a politician being the head of a central bank.

2. He is not qualified to do the job.  Central banks don't lend themselves well to on the job training.

3. Taking a 75% share in Glitnir(later anulled by the nationalization of the bank), essentually making private debt sovereign debt.

4. The pegging of the kronur ( My personal favorite).  It will go down in the economic books as the shortest in history (one day) and probably the dumbest. This, by the way, helps the "not qualified " argument.

5. For implying on national television (Kastljós) that Iceland would not cover the debts of the banks.  This one alone is grounds for dismissal in any normal circumstance.  You can watch this in the video below.

If you could lose the "my football team is better than your football team" mentality for just a few minutes and try to come up with a rational reason why he should remain the Head of the Central Bank I am willing to here it.  Anyway you will be hard pressed to find an economist who agrees with you because most have listed these exact reasons for why he should go.

As far as the 70% of the nation watching, I hope you are not implying that 70% of the nation now supports Daviđ.  That would require math usually reserved for the old banks or only counting the blog pages with a blue background.

And why, why, why does criticism of Daviđ automatically mean that  I am a dam hating, beer drinking, sex with strangers, chess playing friend of Baugur or Jón Ásgeir? (OK , I do drink beer.)This is just a demonization tactic used by people who can't make their argument using the truth.  I can assure you I have no love for the man or the company. After all Jón Ásgeir brought down FLGroup and that was in the good times! For the record, and purely politically speaking, I think Daviđ was a great politician.  One does not hold power for so long by muddling through it.  He just should not be the Head of the Central Bank.  Period. 

For those diehards that still think Daviđ was preaching the Gospel on Kastljós here is a video:

GTB


« Síđasta fćrsla | Nćsta fćrsla »

Athugasemdir

1 Smámynd: Sigurđur Ţór Magnússon

Just so you know, I want my check for that whole "assume" thing!! And don't tell me it's the mail!

Sigurđur Ţór Magnússon, 28.2.2009 kl. 23:33

Bćta viđ athugasemd

Ekki er lengur hćgt ađ skrifa athugasemdir viđ fćrsluna, ţar sem tímamörk á athugasemdir eru liđin.

Innskráning

Ath. Vinsamlegast kveikiđ á Javascript til ađ hefja innskráningu.

Hafđu samband